Melbourne Cup Betting

Melbourne Cup – Tuesday November 7, 2017
3200m | Group 1 Open Handicap | Flemington Racecourse | Prize money: $6,000,000

About the Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup is the most anticipated race run in Australia each year. It is held on the first Tuesday of November each year and is known as “The race that stops the nation”. It is the highlight of the Melbourne Spring Carnival and the final of the 3 major races. It is run over 2 miles – 3200m, and only the top stayers from Australia and around the world are eligible to be entered. Horses qualify via a ballot system and can gain exemption by winning specific lead up races.

The race has a large field size due to its prestigious nature, holding a capacity of 24 runners. The runners compete for a prize pool of $6 Million with the winner taking home $3.6 Million.

History of the Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup was first held in 1861 and has since become the jewel of Australian thoroughbred racing. The race is synonymous with champion racehorses who have etched their name in history, including the greats; Makybe Diva, Phar Lap, Rain Lover, Think Big and Kingston Rule, just to name a few. Only 4 horses have won the race consecutively.

Melbourne Cup Key Statistics

  • King of the Cups Bart Cummings holds the record of most wins in the Melbourne up, saddling up 12 winners
  • Makybe Diva is the best performed horse in the history of the race with 3 wins to her name, she is also the last mare to win (2005)
  • Lloyd Williams has the most wins by any owner with 5 – he won the race with Almandin in 2016
  • Favourites have a poor record in the race winning only 22% of the time


Melbourne Cup Past Winners (Last 20 editions)


Year Horse
2016 Almandin
2015 Prince Of Penzance
2014 Protectionist
2013 Fiorente
2012 Green Moon
2011 Dunaden
2010 Americain
2009 Shocking
2008 Viewed
2007 Efficient
2006 Delta Blues
2005 Makybe Diva
2004 Makybe Diva
2003 Makybe Diva
2002 Media Puzzle
2001 Ethereal
2000 Brew
1999 Rogan Josh
1998 Jezabeel
1997 Might And Power


Early Betting on The Melbourne Cup

The 2017 Melbourne Cup is always a wide open betting affair, and this year is no different. Red Cardinal is the early favourite, and last year’s winner Almandin is also prominent. Fan favourite Big Orange last year and is in the top tier of betting also.

Melbourne Cup Betting Options

There’s a plethora of options to bet on the Melbourne Cup. Casual punters can have a bet on the winner or a horse to run a place. Some other options available on the Melbourne Cup include a quinella, exacta, trifecta, first 4.



It takes less than 2 minutes



It’s safe & secure



Great odds & Specials