no image

South Australian Derby

South Australian Derby – Saturday May 13th, 2017
2500m I Set-Weights | Morphettville Racecourse I Prizemoney - $ 600,000

The 2017 South Australian Derby is a Group 1 set weight event for three year olds held over a distance of 2500 metres at Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide with prizemoney of $600,000. The South Australian Derby is part of the South Australian Jockey Club Autumn Carnival.

Some of the pleasing horses of the Australian turf have won the South Australian Derby including – Rebel Raider (2009), Mummify (2003) & Subzero (1992).

History of The South Australian Derby

The South Australian Derby inaugurated in 1860 as the Thebarton Derby which was held at the old Thebarton Racecourse located in Mile End. Two years later it was known as ‘The Derby’. The race has changed distances between one and a half mile (2400m) and 2600m. Since 2005 it has been run at 2500m.

The South Australian Derby Key Statistics

  • One of the major lead-up races has been the ATC Australian Derby. Mummify in 2003 and Testifiable in 2006 both finished third in the Randwick classic before winning the South Australian Derby
  • In the last 10 years 3 of the winners have come from the Chairman’s Stakes at the previous start. Rebel Raider was the last horse to complete the double in 200

Recent Winners of South Australian Derby

Year First Second Third
2017 Volatile Mix Ruthven Odeon
2016 Howard Be Thy Name Etymology Cool Chap
2015 Delicacy Werther Allergic
2014 Kushadasi Scratchy Bottom Best Case
2013 Escado Hioctdane Shoreham
2012 Zabeelionaire Sabrage Westsouthwest
2011 Shadows In The Sun Echoes Of Heaven Lalla Rookh
2010 Kidnapped Red Colossus Sea Galleon
2009 Rebel Raider Astro Gains Fitoussi
2008 Zarita Zagreb Neugine
2007 Lazer Sharp Classic De Lago Red Lord

Betting Options for the South Australian Derby

Win bet

A win bet is the most popular bet. Simply pick a horse to win and bet on it according to the odds offered at

Place bet

A place bet is a bet on which horse or horses will finish the race in the top three.

Each Way

An each way bet sees the punter able to collect if your horse wins or runs a place. If it runs a place, you will collect the place dividend only but if it wins you will receive the win & place bet dividend.

Some other forms of horse racing betting include: quinella, exacta, trifecta, first 4, quaddie and the big6.
Get the best odds for Adelaide racing at Take advantage of joining offers and bonus bets up when you open a new account through our website.

If you like betting on the South Australian Derby why don’t you give us a go at today!


Tweets by BlueBetAu

Follow us