Kingsford-Smith Cup Betting

BTC Cup (known as the Kingsford Smith Cup)– Saturday May 27th, 2017
1300m I Weight For Age| Eagle Farm Racecourse I Prizemoney - $ 500,000

The 2017 BTC Cup is a Group 1 weight-for-age event held over a distance of 1200 metres at Doomben Racecourse with prizemoney of $500,000. The BTC Cup is a Brisbane Racing Carnival Group 1 that occurs in Brisbane as part of the Queensland Winter Racing carnival. For the 2017 edition of the Cup the event has been changed to the Darley Kingsford Smith Cup and is now over 1300m.

Some greats of the Australian turf have won the BTC Cup including – Hot Snitzel (2015), Sea Siren (2012), Black Caviar (2011) and Apache Cat (2008)

History of The BTC Cup

The race has grown in prestige and was elevated to Group 1 in 2006. The original race name was named in honour of former long-time committeeman of the Brisbane Amateur Turf Club, J.T. Delane and was first run ion 1964.

BTC Cup Key Statistics

  • Two horses completed the TJ Smith Stakes – BTC Cup double without a run in between – Apache Cat (2008) and Black Caviar (2011).
  • Favourites in past BTC Cup betting markets have a poor recent record, the last top pick to salute was the great mare Black Caviar.
  • Inside barriers have been key with barriers 2 to 5 producing 11 winners from 2006 – 2016

Recent winners of the BTC Cup

Year First Second Third
2016 Malaguerra Dothraki Japonisme
2015 Hot Snitzel Knoydart Our Boy Malachi
2014 Famous Seamus Spirit Of Boom Buffering
2013 Your Song Rain Affair Better Than Ready
2012 Sea Siren Scenic Blast Beaded
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering
2010 Albert The Fat Melito Latin News
2009 Duporth Bank Robber Apache Cat
2008 Apache Cat Vormista Swiss Ace
2007 Bentley Biscuit Takeover Target Mitanni
2006 Gee I Jane Daunting Lad All Bar One
2005 Spark Of Life St Basil Regimental Gal
2004 Thorn Park Star Of Florida Regimental Gal
2003 Falvelon Make Mine Magic Diamond Dane
2002 Lord Essex Falvelon Phoenix Park
2001 Fritz Show A Heart King Lotto
2000 Falvelon Mr Innocent Toledo

BTC Cup Betting Options

A Win, Place and Each Way bet are the easiest form of betting options for the BTC Cup. A win bet known as betting 'on the nose', is the most common bet type. It is a bet made on a single horse to finish first.

Some other forms of horse racing betting include: quinella, exacta, trifecta, first 4, quaddie and the big6.

If you like betting on the BTC Cup why don’t you give us a go at today!


Tweets by BlueBetAu

Follow us